Hatchett PR

creativity, culture, community

Feed Your Mind To Do Your Best Work

“All work and no play, makes Jack a dull boy.”  Who can forget Jack Nicholson saying that in The Shining?  This old proverb has been quoted in numerous movies, books and even by the mischievousness Bart Simpson.  And for good reason.  It means that without taking time away from work you become bored, and often you become a boring person to be around.

To consistently have good ideas and do my best work, I find it’s helpful to take a break.  Over the years, I have not always done this enough, but I’m trying to find more balance in my life. It’s good to get away from the office and stop staring at a screen.  To be my best most productive self, I need to take time out to feed my mind and refresh my spirit.  For me, this means  meeting a friend for a cup of coffee, going to the theater, visiting an art gallery, or playing in my beads to start a new piece of jewelry.

Recently after a frustrating week, I was invited by a friend to attend a local production of “Henry IV.”  I was tired and a bit stressed when I arrived, but soon found myself unwinding and enjoying the show.  Set in a beautiful area park, the grounds were filled with laughing groups of friends and dates.   Everyone was picnicking and basking in the fun of a Saturday evening under the stars.  The next day I felt ready to take on the world again.

In keeping with this week’s blog theme, here’s an interesting story by Brenda Wilson for NPR on the health benefits of vacations:  http://n.pr/o6T0XX

What activities do you enjoy that help you recharge your batteries?

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 29, 2011 by in Business, Motivation, Personal, PR, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , .
