Hatchett PR

creativity, culture, community

Microboredom, Crowdfunding and Couch Commerce?

Our language is changing faster than I can keep up with it.  Seriously, I need a dictionary on my iPhone.  What?  Oh yeah, I have one.

New technology is changing our lifestyles and how we interact and communicate with each other, and it’s changing our language along with it. PR and Marketing professionals are adapting and devising ways to reach people using new technology, adding new terminology as we go. It keeps things interesting.

Until a couple of weeks ago, I didn’t realize that when I stand in line to buy movie tickets, or while I’m waiting in my dentist’s office, I’m experiencing microboredom.  This is a marketing term for bits of time when you can reach consumers on mobile devices to sell goods or servcies, or even entertain them.  Normally I use these little pockets of time for list-making.  Sometimes I just stare into space.  I didn’t realize I was bored!!  In the future I’ll grab my smartphone and relieve some of my angst.  I can poke someone on Facebook, tweet to my many information-thirsty followers, or add recipes to Pinterest.  

Over the weekend I received solicitations to participate in several crowdfunding efforts.  This is just a fancy way to say that I was asked to donate money as part of a large group (crowd) of people who will each give a small amount to reach the goal.  Cool idea. I can help a small theater company build sets for their upcoming Steampunk production of The Tempest, and help open a Native American crafts store.

I just found a ten minute window of time in my hectic schedule, so I’ve decided to jump on QVC and indulge in a little couch commerce. Yep, retailers and e-tailers know when we are sitting on our couch (or a couch at Starbuck’s) we’ve got a few minutes to shop or browse, so they’ve got special apps to help us. I’ll probably Facebook about it if I find a really good deal.

What new terms or phrases have you added to your vocabulary recently?  I’d love to hear from you!

*Note: Have you tried Pinterest?  It’s a great site that allows you to create idea boards for fashion, home, travel and more. You can share recipes, DYI projects, travel tips and fashion trends.  Here’s the link: http://pinterest.com/

* Another Note: The most popular crowdfunding program my friends are using is Kickstarterhttp://www.kickstarter.com/

3 comments on “Microboredom, Crowdfunding and Couch Commerce?

  1. readytochangenow
    January 24, 2012

    I click on the post because I didn’t understand any of the words in the title – I feel out of touch! After blogging for two months I have learned backlinks, SEO and ping. My husband just looks at me oddly when I use them now.

  2. Matthew
    January 24, 2012

    Did you know the American Marketing Association has an online dictionary of marketing terms? It has ‘crowd sourcing’ on it but not ‘couch commerce’ or ‘microboredom’.

    You can find it here: http://www.marketingpower.com/_layouts/Dictionary.aspx

    • hatchettpr
      January 26, 2012

      Hello Matthew! I did know about the AMA dictionary, but actually did not check before I posted the article. You make a good point, that they add new words once they’re integrated into our language. The words I discussed are really new, so may be added soon. THANKS for joining in the discussion! I appreciate your input.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 24, 2012 by in Business, Marketing, Personal, PR, Social Media, Writing and tagged , , , , , , .
